Return to Headlines

Three CVUSD Administrators Earn Leadership Awards from ACSA Region 13

The Association of California School Administrators (ACSA) Awards Program honors individuals each year for their extraordinary work in school leadership and their dedication to public education. Through the local ACSA Region 13, members nominate candidates that showcase the core values of ACSA: leadership, service, unity and diversity, continuous improvement, and enjoyment.

We are proud to share the following members of the CVUSD team have been selected as the Region 13 administrators of the year, for outstanding performance and achievement for the 2022-2023 school year:

  • Middle School Principal of the Year Doug Hedin of Sycamore Canyon School

  • High School Principal of the Year, Steve Lepire of Newbury Park High School

In addition to the Region 13 administrators of the year, ACSA also recognizes leadership matters award recipients, a regional level award, bestowed to one person from each of ACSA Region 13’s eight charters. The Leadership Matters Award is given to individuals who demonstrate great leadership on behalf of students, who are hardworking and who are often unsung heroes - this year’s recipient is:

  • COLVOP (Conejo, Las Virgenes, Oak Park) Leadership Matters recipient, Dr. Victor Hayek, Deputy Superintendent of Business Services

All three members of the CVUSD’s leadership team will be formally recognized at the ACSA Region 13 awards banquet on May 5th in Santa Barbara. ACSA Region 13 represents the counties of Ventura, Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo and Northern Los Angeles County.

Additionally, Mr. Hedin and Mr. Lepire have been submitted to State ACSA as nominees for their respective administrator of the year recognition. The State ACSA is expected to announce their awardees in the month ahead. 

Congratulations to Mr. Hedin, Mr. Lepire and Dr. Hayek on being recognized for exemplary leadership that makes a positive impact on our CVUSD campuses each and every day!

Congratulations to CVUSD's Leadership Awardees