About The Program

Becoming Everyday Scholars Together (B.E.S.T) is a new grant-funded CVUSD program that provides additional educational support to about 500 identified students and families. Three CVUSD counselors offer additional social-emotional and academic support. In addition, after-school tutoring and intervention is provided by CVUSD teachers to middle school and high school students.

Elementary Schools

CounselorSchools
Alicia Fender
afender@conejousd.org
Acacia School for Enriched Learning, Aspen, Glenwood, Ladera STARS Academy, Madrona, Weathersfield, Wildwood
Nadia Lucero
nlucero@conejousd.org
Banyan, Cypress, EARTHS Magnet School, Maple, Walnut
Lisa Lucore
llucorepatterson@conejousd.org
Conejo, Westlake, Lang Ranch, Westlake Hills

Secondary Schools

SchoolCounselorAfter-School Support Teachers
Colina Middle SchoolLisa LucoreMonica Kern - kern@conejousd.org
Los Cerritos Middle SchoolLisa Lucore 
Redwood Middle SchoolAlicia FenderChristy Pantoja - cpantoja@conejousd.org
Melodee Harman - mharman@conejousd.org
Karin Sardon - ksardin@conejousd.org
Sequoia Middle SchoolNadia LuceroKaren Abbitt - kabbitt@conejousd.org
Karla Stevenson - kstevenson@conejousd.org
Lisa Amenta - lamenta@conejousd.org
Sycamore Canyon Middle SchoolNadia LuceroMark Bowen - kabbitt@conejousd.org
Masha Unigovskaya - kabbitt@conejousd.org

Frequently Asked Questions

Click on a question below to see the answer:

Letters informing families of qualifying students were provided to all families on August 2019. If you are unsure, you can contact the counselor at your child’s school.

B.E.S.T counselors provide extra, supplemental support to the existing services offered by the school counselor. The school counselor and B.E.S.T counselor collaborate and communicate to ensure additional support is offered.

B.E.S.T counselors plan to hold information nights for families throughout the school year. Families will be made aware of these events via Blackboard communication and also with updates onto this webpage.

No. CVUSD’s B.E.S.T program is simply providing additional counseling and teacher support to students.

Please email the B.E.S.T counselor assigned to your child’s school.